Szczesny – I’m paying back the manager

Szczesny – I’m paying back the manager

By Rob Kelly

Wojciech Szczesny admits he is still trying to pay back Arsène Wenger for showing faith in him at a young age.

The Polish goalkeeper produced a sensational display at Anfield as Arsenal beat Liverpool 2-1 on Saturday, making a string of saves including a penalty stop from Dirk Kuyt.

Szczesny hopes that performances like that have justified Wenger’s decision to entrust him with the goalkeeping position.

“He made me the No 1 goalkeeper at Arsenal at 20 years of age,” he said. “That gives you a lot of confidence and I am just trying to repay that faith with every single performance.

“At a young age it is hard to be consistent. I have had my ups and downs.

“But the manager keeps believing in me and I hope that performances like this just prove him right.”

Source: http://www.arsenal.com/news/news-archive/szczesny-i-m-paying-back-the-manager

Best GK in the world, boldly said.

Leave a Reply - No foul language and spam please :)

